When did we stop dreaming?

Do you remember dreaming when you were a child?

When we were 5 we were asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?” we answered with things like “Clown”, “Pizza maker”, “Ballerina”, “Princess”, “A Cowboy” and of course many more. In our hearts we all knew that that is what we would become.

Then when we were 10 we were asked the same thing. “What do you want to be when you grow up?” And mostly our answers will be the same, but maybe a little more realistic; “Fireman”, “Policeman”, “Race car driver”, “Mechanic”, “Actor”, “Writer”. Again, we know in our hearts that we will reach this goal.

So when we get to be a teenager and we get asked the question again we now know what is plausible and what isn’t. “What do you want to be when you grow up?”; “A Teacher”, “A Lawyer”, “A nurse” and so many more admirable things. But somewhere between teen years and adult years something changes.

I am 22 and ask me what I want to be when I grow up. I’ll tell you… “I have no idea. I guess I’ll just stay in retail and have a family.” Where did my dreams go? I was so adamant when I was young that I would be a teacher, as I came into late teens I thought about nursing. I was so adamant that I would never stop until I reached my goals and my dreams became reality. Now? I can’t even remember why I wanted to be a teacher.

When did we stop dreaming?

2015 is the year I’m hoping that my dreams come back and hit me in the face with full force. I want to wake up one day and say “Oh my god. Why have I not already done this?”. I want to remember how it feels running head on to a dream that I know is just a footstep away. I want to feel like nothing can stop me. But most of all, I want the joy when I reach my dream to fill me up and explode. I want to dream again.

I always ask everyone this question when I meet new people “What do you want to be when you grow up?” and I like to think that one day I’ll be able to convince someone that the dream they had when they were 10 can still be a reality.

It’s never too late to dream. So let’s get dreaming.

What is your dream? I secretly still think I’ll be a pop star.

11 thoughts on “When did we stop dreaming?

  1. starlightdaydreamer says:

    When I was younger I wanted to be a princess with her very own flying unicorn … To be honest, that dream seems about a realistic as my secret dream of being able to sing/act considering I’m petrified of people!
    Honestly, I haven’t got a clue what I’m doing with my life. I don’t know if the things I’m doing are for myself or just what I think other people want me to do. Although the one constant dream has been to be a author, which I’m making pretty good progress at right now with my manuscript, but again, I feel as though people are expecting me to just admit it’s a dream and give up. But I won’t. I tend to be a constant dreamer. Maybe that’s why I’m so fed up with reality…
    (By the way, I just found your blog, so I might end up commenting on a few posts! I tend to do that … I swear I’m not a stalker!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well I’m sure we can find you a unicorn 🙂

      I love the child within us all that still wishes we were princesses, but what I love about this more is that you know that just because you once dreamed it, doesn’t mean that it isn’t going to be reality!

      I am so so so so sure that you’ll be amazing, because you have a dream and that is what will push you!

      Well done on your manuscript! (Maybe I’ll get to see it someday?)

      Haha! Don’t worry! It’s really nice that someone is taking their time to stalk… I mean read my blogs! I have only just started out and am really nervous about it! Thank you for taking the time to comment to! Super appreciate it!

      Like

      • starlightdaydreamer says:

        Feel free to join me on the magical unicorn hunt – I’m always happy to welcome more adventurers!

        The child in me is still very much a prominent part of who I am, which can be both good and bad, depending on the situation!

        Hopefully you will get the chance to read the story someday, that means that it was actually published and a dream I’ve had since I was six has come true.

        I understand the nerves! I started mine last year, but I was really bad about actually posting content because I was so scared that it would be wrong somehow, if that makes sense? That’s why this year I’m more focused on writing what I want, as opposed to what I think people want to read. I want what I post to be me, and be honest.

        I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve read of your stuff so far, so you might see me popping up some more in your comments! (Sorry in advance! Haha!)

        Liked by 1 person

      • Fantastic! I’ll pack my bag now and we can begin the adventure!

        Well I can definitely agree with that! I’m an adult at work but when it comes to being at home or with friends- unleash the child!

        I can’t wait. What kind of story is it? I will keep all my fingers and toes crossed for you!

        That completely makes sense, I feel like i don’t want people to think “why is she even bothering”, but at the same time I’m enjoying it so much. I forgot how much I enjoyed writing. You should stay focused, your writing is style is so…flowy (that is not a word but go with it). It is very easy to read, and I’ll certainly be reading more.

        Thank you! I really do appreciate every comment that is left! Especially essays like these! Gives me something to tell my boyfriend other than “yeah work was alright thanks”. Haha!

        Like

      • starlightdaydreamer says:

        So that’s two sets of fingers and toes crossed then! It’s a supernatural YA novel – of course it took me ages to actually figure out that’s probably what it would fall under! Knowing that definitely makes easier when I’m trying to describe it to people.
        Thank you! I shall do my best to keep my writing flowy! I definitely think that should become a word. I like flowy.
        I really like long comments too, because it feels like you’re actually having conversations that have been sparked by what you wrote, which is always fun.

        Like

      • Ooh it sounds like something i’d be into! I’ll buy a copy for sure!

        Good! I’ll phone Oxford Dictionary and tell them flowy is a word now.

        Yes, it does seem like that. Thanks again for taking the time! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

