What are you doing to be who you want to be?

“Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.”

There was a time in my life was a quiet, shy, sweet girl. I would only say nice things, I would never lash out, I would never lie. But one day that all changed. It wasn’t just one event in life that changed me. It was a few, but I won’t go into that now. That’s a story for another time. After “The change” I became someone I never wanted to be. I was a mean girl. I started swearing all the time , I was aggressive and angry at everything, I drove away friends and family, and was even homeless for a short time. I drank a stupid amount and I made so, so many mistakes I wish I could just forget. For a long time these things were all I would think about. But over the past year I have slowly (and I do mean slowly) coming to terms with a lot of things. One being my past is my past, it doesn’t decide what I do now. “Every accomplishment starts with the decision to try.” With that I say to you- are you who you want to be? If not, then what are you doing about it? I have started writing this in order to help me de-stress (it honestly does help) I got a new job where i am beyond appreciated. I moved in with my partner (the first time I’ve ever had a garden!) I hold my breath when I want to swear at someone. I try my best to apologise when I’m in the wrong. I try my best to understand that I can’t change anything that has already happened (I am definitely not a time traveller) I try my best to believe that I can be that good person again.

So, basically I keep asking myself every day; “What am I doing today to be who I want to be?” If i don’t know how to answer it, then I activity try my best to do something. Be it, singing that song to makes me feel good, telling someone I love how much I care about them, or offering cookies to complete strangers on the train. I DO something.

I made the decision to try.

My point that I am trying to come to is; are you the person you want to be? If not, what are you doing to change that?

Remember: Rome wasn’t built in a day, but every accomplishment started with the decision to try.

Let me know in the comments what you do to be the person you want to be.

One thought on “What are you doing to be who you want to be?

Leave a Reply

